African Responsible Tourism Awards

Africa: the Best of the Last Five Years

In the sixth year of the Africa Responsible Tourism Awards, we thought that we should look back over the five years of the Awards, the Africa and World Awards 2015-2019, and invite the Gold winners in all categories to update their original application and to enter the 2020 Africa Responsible Tourism Awards. There will be both a public vote for each category based on the judges’ reasons and Gold and Silver winners chosen by an international panel comprising judges from the African and World Awards panels. Application forms for the 2020 Inspirational Africa Responsible Tourism Awards will be emailed out to all Gold winners below on February 1st, with a deadline of March 9th.

The first Africa Responsible Tourism Awards were announced in 2014 and presented at WTM Africa in 2015. The Awards were created to celebrate and inspire change in the African tourism industry. It is an Africa-wide search and celebration of the most inspiring and enduring responsible tourism experiences. The awards rest on a simple principle – that all types of tourism, from niche to mainstream, can and should be organised in a way that preserves, respects and benefits destinations and local people. “Our vision for the awards is to shine a light on the best of the best and to inspire change in the African tourism industry. Better Tourism Africa wants to help people live their dreams through authentic and life-enriching adventures, to ensure local people and wildlife benefit and to be a catalyst for change in the tourism industry. Our awards are a key part of this dream to drive positive change. Our awards celebrate the shining stars of responsible tourism on the African continent – the individuals, organisations and destinations making a positive impact on local cultures, communities and biodiversity. But more than that, we want their examples to inspire others. That’s why we’ve got the most rigorous judging process around. And we work with our partners to get the word out so that winners’ are an example to the industry.”

The 2020 Inspirational Africa Responsible Tourism Awards will be presented to those businesses and organisations which can demonstrate the core Responsible Tourism values of transparency and respect, which are able to demonstrate their impact and which have, or could, inspire others to achieve more. We started the Africa Awards to identify solutions and encourage change, five years on it is time to look for those which are most inspiring and which can, and should, be replicated.

  • Responsible Business
  • Responsible Destinations
  • Benefiting Local People
  • Wildlife
  • Application forms for the 2020 Inspirational Africa Responsible Tourism Awards will be emailed out to all Gold winners below on February 1st, with a deadline of March 9th. If you want to begin to work on your application the questions requiring a little thought will be:

  • What do you regard as your most notable contribution to RT practice? What have you done that might inspire others? We are keen to promote examples of good replicable RT practice – that can only benefit you!
  • Describe what you consider to be your most inspirational initiative in some detail, the need identified, your response, what you did, and the impact(s) of your initiative.
  • Do you have any evidence of the impact of your RT initiatives within your business, destination or organisation or in the community or their environment?
  • Have you been able to make your initiative a matter of routine across your business, destination or organisation?
  • What range of RT initiatives have you introduced – present each, but in much less detail than your inspirational initiative? Think about the three pillars of economic, social and environmental.
  • How replicable do you think your Responsible Tourism practices are?
  • Have you influenced others? Can you point to any replication which has taken place?
  • The awards are open to any organisation anywhere in Africa. The 2019 longlisters included 36 tourism organisations from Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe. These organisations competed for the top spots in seven categories that focus on community benefits, conservation, resource management, attractions, events, cultural and heritage experiences, and the Global Goals.

    More information on the awards and entry forms are available on the awards website. 2020 African Responsible Tourism Award nominations are now open.

    More information on WTM Responsible Tourism is available on the WTM Responsible Tourism website.

    Connect with the Awards on Twitter at @RTAwardsAfricaand Facebook at @AfricanResponsibleTourismAwards

    We use cookies to operate this website and to improve its usability. Full details of what cookies are, why we use them and how you can manage them can be found by reading our Privacy & Cookies page. Please note that by using this site you are consenting to the use of cookies.