African Responsible Tourism Awards

The 2019 African Responsible Tourism Awards #ARTA19 will be presented at a ceremony hosted as part of WTM Africa.

The African Responsible Tourism Awards are an Africa-wide search and celebration of the most inspiring and enduring responsible tourism experiences. The awards rest on a simple principle – that all types of tourism, from niche to mainstream, can and should be organised in a way that preserves, respects and benefits destinations and local people.

Making a change from the previous two years, the public can nominate tourism businesses and organisations they feel are deserving of an award. Tourism organisations can also enter directly. The six categories open for nominations and entries are:

1. Best for Resource Management in Water or Waste

2. Best Sustainable Event

3. Best for Habitat and/or Species Conservation

4. Best for Community Benefit

5. Best Responsible Experience in Culture or Heritage

6. Best Responsible Attraction

Entry is open to any organisation anywhere in Africa. Entrants are automatically entered into an eighth category – the Best for Global Goals Reporting. This category was introduced in 2018 in recognition of the role of tourism in contributing to the Sustainable Development Goals. The awards are organised by Better Tourism Africa under licence of WTM London and hosted by WTM Africa.

More information on the awards and entry forms are available on the awards website –

Connect with the Awards on Twitter at @RTAwardsAfrica and Facebook at AfricanResponsibleTourismAwards.

A member of:

Host City:

We use cookies to operate this website and to improve its usability. Full details of what cookies are, why we use them and how you can manage them can be found by reading our Privacy & Cookies page. Please note that by using this site you are consenting to the use of cookies.